Board Members

  1. Startseite

  2. /
  3. Board Members

The Joint Committee comprises 12 scientists from various disciplines and institutions appointed for a term of three years by the presidiums of the DFG and the Leopoldina in mutual agreement. At least one member must be an expert on ethical issues and one on legal issues. The Joint Committee is headed jointly by the vice presidents of the DFG and the Leopoldina or by representatives appointed by the presidiums.

Chair Persons

Professor Dr Britta Siegmund ML

Vice President of the DFG, Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Medical Director of the Medical Department, Division of Gastroenterology, Infectiology and Rheumatology

Professor Dr Thomas Lengauer ML

Appointed representative of the Leopoldina Presidium, Max Planck Institute Informatik

Other Members

Professor Dr Stephan Becker ML

University of Marburg, Institute of Virology

Professor Dr Alfons Bora

Bielefeld University, Faculty of Sociology


Dr Una Jakob

Peace Research Institute Frankfurt, Frankfurt am Main


Professor Dr Frank Kirchner

German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence,


Professor Dr Anika Klafki

Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Faculty of Law


Professor Dr Felicitas Krämer

University of Potsdam, Institute of Philosophy

Professor Dr Florian Kraus

University of Marburg, Department of Chemistry


Professor Dr Lars Schaade

Robert Koch Institute Berlin

Professor Dr Judith Simon

Universität Hamburg, Chair of Ethics in Information Technology


Professor Dr Jochen Taupitz ML

University of Mannheim, Faculty of Law and Economics